Aggressive Defense against DUI Charges throughout Mississippi
Trusted defense attorneys with offices in Southaven, Hernando and Olive Branch
Mississippi has some very strict laws when it comes to driving under the influence (DUI). If you are convicted of the charges, you face losing your license – and potentially your freedom, your job and your ability to provide for your family. A DUI will stay on your record for five years (commonly called the “washout” period, and the repercussions for a repeat offense are even more severe.
Taylor Jones Taylor represent people accused of DUIs in Mississippi. With offices in Southaven, Hernando and Olive Branch, the firm is always close by when you need it most. The attorneys have earned their reputation as aggressive, building proactive and creative strategies designed to have your charges dropped or reduced when an outright dismissal is not possible.
Fines and penalties for a DUI
Regardless of whether this is your first mistake or if you are charged with a repeat offense, if you get a DUI in Mississippi you may be going to jail. For a first time offender, you face:
- Up to 48 hours in a local jail
- A three month suspension of your license
- Up to $1,000 in fines and penalties
- Additional money for court fees and license reinstatement fees
It is really important to understand that even if you do not take a breathalyzer, you are going to lose your license. Mississippi has an implied consent law, which basically means that if you are driving around on the roads in the state it is implied that any police officer has the right to legally pull you over and demand a breath, blood or urine test so long as the stop itself was legal.
Defending the charge
The is one perfectly good reason not to take the test, even if you still have to pay the fine and lose your license: without the breath test, it is harder for the law enforcement officer and the prosecutor to prove that A) the police had a reason to pull you over, and B) that you were, in fact, impaired.
However: you should know that when it comes to a DUI charge, the deck is stacked against you. Without the help of a skilled DUI defense lawyer, the judge is far more likely to take the word of the cop over yours; it’s simply the way it works. Taylor Jones Taylor has represented clients all over northwest Mississippi, from Cleveland to Hernando to Tupelo and everywhere in between. The criminal defense lawyers know which judges are particularly strict when it comes to the law and how each prosecutor will argue his or her case. They also know exactly what is at stake for you and your future, so they never stop fighting on your behalf.
Your advocate when you are charged with a DUI in Mississippi
Taylor Jones Taylor has successfully represented clients facing first time and repeat charges of DUI in Oxford, Tupelo, Batesville, Clarksdale, Cleveland and Grenada, and throughout Mississippi. A DUI conviction can cost you more than money, and a proactive approach can help you protect your freedom. Please call Taylor Jones Taylor at 662-342-1300 or fill out this contact form to speak with an attorney in the Southaven, Hernando or Olive Branch office. How can we make your future safer today?